The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 24 of 24

User Info Menu

I've been playing swing/bebop for a few years now, but the bossa nova still is a mystery for me in regards to how to comp in a way that doesn't step on the toes of the rest of the band. When comping on a bebop tune I avoid the low E string when I can in order to stay out of the bassists way, but I noticed a lot of good bossa nova players play these big chords including the low E string and they make it work somehow. I know the bass usually alternates between the root and fifth, but what about tritone subs? Wouldn't it clash if one guy chooses a sub and plays the bass note while the other doesn't?
    I've been looking for instructional material on this subject, but it seems limited. Preferably I would like to find something done by brazillian guitarists since those are heads above anyone else. I want to be able to play like that. The really good cats there have perfect time, and I am searching for clues for how to learn bossa nova correctly. There are a lot of non brazillians who play it with syncopated bass, bad voicings etc and I want to avoid that. Can anyone point me to instructional material that ensures that I learn authentic voicings for comping in this style? There's got to be something out there. Thanks!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Try this:

There's a lot on comping, although the title indicates else wise...

User Info Menu

this is the best single resource, by a brazilian. many examples from actual recordings of top players (toninho horta, oscar castro-neves, joao bosco, etc), with and without lower strings.

Amazon.com: The Brazilian Guitar Book (9781883217020): Nelson Faria: Books

User Info Menu

+1 Another vote for Nelson Faria's book.

User Info Menu