The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 20 of 20
    I've been studying guitar like crazy the past several months and I'm starting to actually improve. Amazing how that can happen with practice!

Anyway, I have a problem and question.
    Currently I am studying various chord progressions from the Guitar Grimoire series. I have many of the books and enjoy them and the theory.

My question is about the C13b5b9 chord I have found in a book. Figure 320 on page 194 of the Progressions and Improvisation book has this chord (4th chord on the top). My problem with it, is I can't find the root note at all. It looks more like an F# Dominant or something. Is it a contextual thing? I wrote the note below and probably didn't sharp and flat correctly.

Also on page 197 figure 323 the second chord, a G13b9 also lacks the root or any intervals I would have expected in a G chord.

For a novice student trying to understand and memorize intervals and formulas for chords and scales, this is rather confusing. Can anyone shed some light on this?

The notes are (string-note): 6-F# 5-C# 3-Bb 2-E 1-A The F# is second fret of the 6th string. I have a small PNG diagram but I can't seem to upload it.

Thanks for any help!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

In this instance they moved the C to Db (C#) giving you the b9. This chord is also an F#7#9 which is the tritone of C

as C the notes are the: b5 b9 7 3 13
    as F# the notes are the 1 5 3 7 #9

As you get to the chords that have a bunch of extensions it gets difficult to play all the notes. Usually some will get omitted (like the root or 11th)

A C13 b5 b9 version with the root would be:

C Gb Bb E A Db played 8 9 8 9 10 9. tough but doable

User Info Menu