The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 11 of 11

User Info Menu

Hey all,

I’m a retired professional guitarist turned English teacher. In my home scene (I won’t name it to minimize retribution), I had troubles with other musicians when I would chord solo à la Wes Montgomery. (That said, at this point, I’m fully retired from professional music, I might have mentioned what city I was based in during one of my YouTube videos, I’m also on the other side of the world).

I am curious to hear other’s experience with improvising with block chords like Wes Montgomery and how that went down in your music scenes.

I managed to anger pianists and other guitarists because I would chord solo à la Wes Montgomery on many gigs and at jam sessions. I recall being accosted at a jam session by an older pianist that guitarists had no right to play chord solos or chords and that guitarists should be like horn players. He had a good deal of influence in the scene.

Another occasion, I was trading fours with a horn player on a gig on a fast blues and couldn’t keep up with fast single note soloing so I switched to block chords. The horn player accosted me at the break in anger claiming I had made him look bad on the bandstand when I switched to chord solos because he can only play one note at a time.

I got into a similar scuffle with another guitarist who could play faster than me. We were playing Satin Doll if I remember correctly and we were trading fours and he did double time single note lines, and I’m not that good at fast single note lines. He was irate at me for apparently making him look bad when I switched to Wes Montgomery style chord solos.