The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I'm a casual jazz guitarist living in Japan. I post these journals to share my experiences and to encourage other JGO forum members to share their jam session experiences.

There are 4 venues, within reasonable driving distance from home, that hold jazz jam sessions, typically 8 or 9 a month. I usually go once or twice a week. This month, I participated in 4 jams at 2 venues. Check my other journals for details on other venues.

I'll begin with an overall summary and then move on to selected experiences and observations from each individual session. I know it seems like a lot to read, but I try to include as much detail as possible in the hope that you can find something that interests you and perhaps offer a comment or question. I'm particularly interested in hearing about jam session participation and repertoire, as well as venues and management. Thank you.

Venue C is a small Mom and Pop shop, and a hub for musicians with a 25 year history. Open 6 days a week, afternoons and evenings, it has a bar/cafe and a performance space, each seating around 30 people. Mom and Pop are both work-a-day musicians. Business includes holding varied genre music events, a jazz jam session and an open mic. For the weekly jazz jam, participants range from advanced to intermediate; beginners are welcome. Entry is 1000JPY (6-7USD), including 1 drink; most buy additional drinks, some have dinner. It's a 40mn drive from home, and I've been jamming here for about 5 years.