The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hi !

I recently joined a big band, I received all the scores.
    A lot of written lines, I confess that during the first rehearsal I couldn't play exactly what it was written but I did the job playing many times my own lines thinking more about the chord progressions and the structures (extra modulations) than about the written lines.
    Do you also act like this ?

There were no guitarist and no pianist, just drums and bass.

On many tunes I don't like the lines, they are irrelevant, they don't really sound natural and it's a torture for the eye.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I’m no expert but I have been looking at big band scores recently (another rabbit-hole to go down!) and I noticed that the bass parts are sometimes a bit crude. From what I can gather these are often written as a sort of guideline, in practice many bass players play their own (better) lines, at least where there is a walking bass line.

The exception could be where there is a specific sort of rhythmic bass figure or riff which is intended to be played as written.

There’s quite a lot of stuff about this (and other big band questions) on the internet, worth reading up on it I think.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by grahambop
    I’m no expert but I have been looking at big band scores recently (another rabbit-hole to go down!) and I noticed that the bass parts are sometimes a bit crude. From what I can gather these are often written as a sort of guideline, in practice many bass players play their own (better) lines, at least where there is a walking bass line.

The exception could be where there is a specific sort of rhythmic bass figure or riff which is intended to be played as written.

There’s quite a lot of stuff about this (and other big band questions) on the internet, worth reading up on it I think.
    I searched it and I'm not the only one in that case.