The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 14 of 14

User Info Menu

Hi !

While I was exploring my app.box, I found this.
    My last rehearsal as a saxophonist... (August 2020)
    It was the second and last rehearsal, we stopped because it didn't sound very well.
    Box
    Tell me what was wrong there ?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Lionelsax
    Hi !

It was the second and last rehearsal, we stopped because it didn't sound very well.
    Box
    I can only really hear the sax through my computer's miniature buzzers pretending to be speakers, so that is all I can tell you about.

As a guitarist, I have noticed that people in general will hear a guitarist and think they sound fine, even pretty good, while I would say they were not so good, or even pretty poor. That is because the people in general don't know what's going on and I do, and I am pretty critical of music and musicians. I imagine this is a general thing - people that play an instrument are best informed to make the judgement of how well another plays it.

I played the Bb clarinet since a child, so I have a little idea of what the sax is about, and I don't hear anything in your sax playing I don't like. You sound like the real deal to me.

Was "it didn't sound very well" the feeling of some of the others, or the whole group, or just yourself? In any case, was it discussed among yourselves at the time?
    Last edited by pauln; 08-27-2023 at 12:42 PM.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by pauln
    As a guitarist, I have noticed that people in general will hear a guitarist and think they sound fine, even pretty good, while I would say they were not so good, or even pretty poor. That is because the people in general don't know what's going on and I do, and I am pretty critical of music and musicians.