The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 31

User Info Menu

I'd like to hear from others about some of the South American Jazz musicians.
    Current" Marco Pereira, Nonato Luiz, Paolo Martelli, Ulysses Rocha, and others.
    I have attended workshops with these people at the Univ of Fla Latin American Studies and they have opened up "whole new worlds" of sound and
    rhythm. They all seem to possess strong classical backgrounds: are well
    skilled in classical(European) harmony and add to this the flavor of their
    part of Brazil with song forms like Bossa, Choro, Samba, and many others

I love Baden Powell. Am aware of people like Jobim and Hermeto as composers
    of Brazilian song.

Love to exchange info...music ..transcriptions...songs and first hand
    experiences.

I'm very new at this, but thought it might be worth a go.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

Jazzarian Guest
    I love them.

JOBIM, Milton Naciemento, Jorge Ben, Dori Cayami, Sergio Mendes, Deodato, JOAO GILBERTO, Oscar Castro Neves......

User Info Menu

Not aware of Dori Cayami..who
    Any specifics. Your list is more modern..yes there is Joao Gilberto, Giberto Gil,
    Joao Bosco. Wonderful. What is it you like about each. How did you get into
    Brazilian music.

Jazzarian Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by jasoncmason
    Any specifics. Your list is more modern..yes there is Joao Gilberto, Giberto Gil,
    Brazilian music.
    When I was a 12 year old, my first guitar teacher made me learn Wave, when all I wanted to do was learn Beatle music at the time.

Little did he realize he started me down the path of anti-social jazz behavior.

I must give Santana some credit as well. Hearing him play Jobim's Stoneflower kind of reaffirmed my love of Brazilian music. Later on I'd buy all the big Jobim records/CDs, like Wave, Tide, Stoneflower etc.

Jazzarian Guest
    Brazilian music.