The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 28

User Info Menu

I'm a fairly advanced jazz guitarist and used to play out pretty regularly (though not as much the last few years). And unlike the last 20 years, I'm now in a position where I can afford a killer archtop.

I've been playing an Epiphone Joe Pass Emperor II for like 10 years. I actually really like it: I feel that it is a nice middle ground between a full size 17" archtop and some of the smaller 15" and less guitars. I actually like the JP more than ES-175's that I've played (I've played reissues and a few vintage - not saying I'm an expert or have played a truly great ES175, just saying that of the one's I've played, I like my Joe Pass Epiphone better.)

Other preferences:
    • Price: $3000-6000
    • 16" body although I could be convinced otherwise
    • Needs to have reasonable feedback control as I play amplified a fair amount
    • This guitar only needs to do jazz - I have other guitars for fusion/blues/funk
    • For jazz guitars, I really like a reasonably loud acoustic tone. This is for a few reasons including the very practical reason of it makes me want to just pick it up and play without needing to plug in. My Gibson ES-335 sounds perfectly respectable for jazz plugged in, but is no fun to just play acoustic (at least compared to an archtop)
    • The Joe Pass Epiphone has nut of 1 11/16th, and that is comfortable to me, but I'm sure 1.75 would be fine too
    • I am agnostic on the "laminate vs carved" debate: as long as it has good feedback control and a nice acoustic sound, I'm fine either way. Doesn't need to be loud enough to play acoustic gigs (which I know, if that is a requirement, then carved 17" is the way to go).

The 3-4 guitars that are currently high on my list are:
    • Sadowsky Jim Hall
    • Sadowsky LS-17 (though I wonder if this will feel too different/big vs. what I'm use to, as this is a 17" body)