The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 22 of 22

User Info Menu

Just curious if one of you could possibly put into words how different, if they are different, the Gibson Super 400 is to the Gibson L5CES. These two guitars are held in pretty high esteem, and I am wondering what sonic territory each covers in comparison to the other.

I still have the crazy fantasy of one of them being a retirement gift to myself (used of course). There are other older threads but I would like to hear some current thoughts.

Thanks for any informed thoughts you can share.
    Last edited by AlsoRan; 03-18-2018 at 09:05 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Well I'm no expert but I would think that its voice (The Super 400) would be a bit fuller and richer on the bottom end of things.

And it may be just a tad louder when played acoustically.

User Info Menu

I can ALMOST answer the question. I have a 97 Super 400 CES and a 96 L-5 WESMO. The Wesmo is way more acoustic, but feeds back way earlier and is brighter and has less fullness in the bass. I assume that an L-5 CES splits the difference. I kind of am interested in getting one eventually to see where the CES lands in the comparison.

User Info Menu

Thanks for your thoughts, men.

I know people around here are getting a little "Gibson Fatigue." I played a Super400 briefly and it just felt so good in my hands. And to be honest, all that shiny surface area didn't hurt either.

I don't really have any lusts left these days, but that something about that Super400 gets to me. I only hope I can get a good used one in the 5,000.00 - 5,500.00 range, like you can with the L5CES. But I get the feeling this guitar is a bit more rare.

User Info Menu