The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hi all.
    I'm not a pro but always looking to improve.
    I recently bought Frank Vignola 's Truefire's "30 juicy 251 subs."
    Although I hate the word juicy, I love the course contents. I understand what a 251 is and what the chords would be but I do have a question for the community.....
    What is your thought process on memorizing the substitutions when the root is not in the bass for the ii, or it is rootless?
    Once I find the ii, the V and I fall into place by positional reference.
    Last edited by d115; 04-08-2023 at 07:26 AM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by d115
    What is your thought process on memorizing the substitutions when the root is not in the bass for the ii, or it is rootless?
    The process you want is internalization. As you notice, in music memorizing things typically means memorizing relationships between proxies for the sound of things, so you try to memorize words, names, numerals, positions, fingerings, and their relationships. When you internalize something the things you are grasping are much more like the objects you are wanting to remember and manipulate. In music, the internalization is much more about objects whose main attribute is "how it sounds", much less about the words, names, numbers, etc.

Recognizing the root of a chord (when the chord is rootless) and similar abilities are examples of the advantages of going beyond memorization and extending into internalization. You will know when internalization is happening when both the apparent level of effort of memorization decreases, the speed of recognition and execution increases, and the retention of things learned lasts longer, all these pretty dramatically.