The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 12 of 12

User Info Menu

Good afternoon.

I've been working on learning Barney Kessel's quite frankly glorious rendition of Autumn Leaves, with a view to gaining technical and theoretical inspiration.
    I'm no jazz pro or jazz theory expert, so thought I'd join this forum and see if any of you people can answer my questions.

Key is C minor, here's a bit of reference material.

Notes of C minor scale
    C, D, E?, F, G, A?, B?

C minor Scale Tone 7th Chords
    i – C minor, C minor seventh (Cmin, Cmin7)
    iidim – D diminished, D minor seventh flat five (Ddim, Dm7b5)
    III – E flat major, E flat major seventh (Ebmaj, Ebmaj7)
    iv – F minor, F minor seventh (Fmin, Fmin7)
    v – G minor, G minor seventh (Gmin, Gmin7)
    VI – A flat major, A flat major seventh (Abmaj, Abmaj7)
    VII – B flat major, B flat dominant seventh (Bbmaj, Bb7)

this is what I'm working off:

So first question, skip to 0.12s. Last bar, top line on screen.

I'm seeing a run of chords up to a Fmin7, resolving to a bFlat7 at the start of the next bar.
    I'm seeing the top note of those chords as a Cminor scale run, G, Ab, Bb, C, Eb resolving to the D ( 3rd of the Bb7). This makes perfect sense.

But what of the chords under that scale run, particularly under the G, Ab, Bb and C? Can anyone explain what and why with those?

Many thanks for any help.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Welcome,
    Its a nice project what you are working on.
    Regarding your question:
    I see this run in that bar as a chordial scale run from Fm7 to Bb7 to fill the 'empty space' in the melody in that bar.