The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 24 of 43 FirstFirst ... 14222324252634 ... LastLast
Posts 576 to 600 of 1072

User Info Menu

All comes down to the old "KNOW 5 things inside out instead of KNOWING OF 50 things."

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by KingKong
    Its ok, peace to you b4 this gets out of hand.

The same theme of worshiping guitarists then sussing them out has played out over all of my guitar learning, from 13 years of age to now.
    Ok, no problem.

I have never thought of the great players as using some mysterious magic process that I will never understand. There are only 12 notes and I’ve got the same available fingers on each hand as they have (and more than Django!) so I should be able to figure out some of what they do, and do it myself. That’s basically what I’ve been doing for those 50 years!

I have never had the attitude that I can’t do at least some of what they do.

Possibly it helped that I started out with classical guitar lessons for the first six years, that was a very clear and rigorous introduction to music.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by grahambop
    I have never thought of the great players as using some mysterious magic process that I will never understand. ........
    I do, then I'm always disappointed to 'find them out' lol!

User Info Menu

But the real magic is in what they do with those notes, arps, etc. The intangible stuff. All you can do is listen, maybe copy some ideas, and try to learn from it, then develop your own approach.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by grahambop
    But the real magic is in what they do with those notes, arps, etc. The intangible stuff. All you can do is listen, maybe copy some ideas, and try to learn from it, then develop your own approach.