The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 47

User Info Menu

I studied for about two years with Barry Harris in the 90s. I don't recall him ever advocating for harmonic minor usage on a ii V i in minor.
    I seem to recall he actually disliked that simplistic approach as taught by some teachers.
    I personally never think of "harmonic minor" scales on a ii V i in minor. I think as Barry advocated: on A-7b5 D7b9 play the F7 scale down from its 7th to the 3rd of D7 (F# is an added half step and a chord tone).
    On G-6 I'll play as Barry advocated: play the G- melodic minor scale with and added #5 (the "G minor six diminished scale")

Anybody have any experience or recollections about Barry's opinions on harmonic minor scale usage?
    Last edited by rintincop; 03-21-2022 at 02:35 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

He had us run it off each degree in the late 90's early 2000's in Toronto. I was flummoxed as he'd never mentioned it before.
    Last edited by A. Kingstone; 03-14-2022 at 10:09 PM.

User Info Menu

I was able to take most of his online classes so about 1 3/4 years worth, plus have seen MANY videos of his workshops and that others have done about his teaching. Every time he teaches this, he stops on the F# note descending when on the progression mentioned by Rintincop. It is impossible for me to determine if Barry meant to add an extra note to the scale or if every F note turns into F# (this would make G harmonic minor).

This is something I’ve always wondered about since becoming a Barry follower a few years back. Anyone who can answer this for me I would be very appreciative.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Petimar