The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hey y'all,

I've recently discovered a weird new chord that is very tense, yet in my opinion has a functional purpose. I have voiced it as (7-4-b7) with the root in the bass. Keep in mind that I'm a pianist, so this sort of voicing may not be easy on guitar. I'm not sure what you'd name this chord. I've elected to call it an E7sus4(no5,addmaj7) chord (if we're in A minor), but it could also be called B7#9/E, although I voice it without the B, and I personally think it sounds best that way. Really this chord is just a quartal triad starting a major 7th above the root, then going up a tritone, and then up a perfect 4th.

Another reason I'm reluctant to call it B7#9/E is that it doesn't particularly sound the same as B7#9. The E in the bass gives it a really different flavor, and when it resolves to an Am(maj7), it sounds like a minor V7-i. Of course, there's problems with calling it E7sus4(no5,addmaj7) too. I mean it's just an intimidating name. Maybe I should just call it E(wacky) instead.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Could you:

a) Write it in notes, low to high (like E7 = E G# B D).

b) Put it between two other chords (like Bø - E7b9 - Am6 in Am = | B D F A | E G# B D F | A C E F# | )

It'll be easier to find on guitar, it'll provide some context, and we can hear it! Thanks.

(More than one example would be better still)

Quote Originally Posted by ragman1
    Could you:

a) Write it in notes, low to high (like E7 = E G# B D).

b) Put it between two other chords (like Bø - E7b9 - Am6 in Am = | B D F A | E G# B D F | A C E F# | )

It'll be easier to find on guitar, it'll provide some context, and we can hear it! Thanks.

(More than one example would be better still)
    Absolutely! I should've thought to do that before.

So if we're in A minor, then a ii-V-i with this chord might look like:

Bø - E7sus4(no5,addmaj7) - Am(maj7)