The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 36

User Info Menu

Can you help me understand why this chord name change occurs?-chnage-chord-name-jpg

Greetings. I have this pictured chord progression (Bars 1-7). The material states that one can move the three string triad to different frets with the root note changing with each move on the neck as one might expect. BUT the chord nomenclature is changed on one of the moves to a very different interpretation.

The written progression is C Cm7 D Db C

Why was it not called C Eb D Db C ?

Why was there a name change to Cm7?

I can see that this shape at the 8th fret contains the b3 5 and b7 from a Cm7 chord, but why the name change?

Please note that I am an absolute beginner at music theory so I am hoping you can keep your answer at a newbie level. Thanks so much!

(I wasn't sure whether to put this in "chord progressions" or "theory" section of the forum - what would have been best?)

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hard to say, maybe the author wanted to highlight that the same shape/triad can have a different function depending on the root. Or liked the convenience of staying on the same root for melodic ideas. Or just heard it that way.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Photonic
    Can you help me understand why this chord name change occurs?-chnage-chord-name-jpg

Greetings. I have this pictured chord progression (Bars 1-7). The material states that one can move the three string triad to different frets with the root note changing with each move on the neck as one might expect. BUT the chord nomenclature is changed on one of the moves to a very different interpretation.

The written progression is C Cm7 D Db C

Why was it not called C Eb D Db C ?

Why was there a name change to Cm7?

I can see that this shape at the 8th fret contains the b3 5 and b7 from a Cm7 chord, but why the name change?