The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567
Posts 151 to 164 of 164

User Info Menu

I love the old rhythm sections with outstanding bassists and drummers - there was a lot of energy.
    I always like to hear it because it makes me feel positive.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I was passionate about many young musicians when I was young myself.
    Today my guitar idols are old gentlemen.

User Info Menu

major seventh chords are … really weird actually don’t you think? They don’t really invert and so much dissonance in them
    I usually replace the 7th with the 6th on the third inversion, unless this dissonance is wanted of course. The pages i posted are kind of my own making, mostly stuff i learned from John Thomas. They are a lot more bebop sounding than Goodrick's approach (which i also like - i studied with him and have gone through all his cycles and voice leading stuff, it's great but more modern sounding).

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Lobomov
    I'm not so sure that audiences are to blame ... it's just how the times are currently ... I suspect it is the arrival of computers. Suddenly you can analyze everything in extreme detail and human nature will strive to make it perfect ... You see it in all fields

The big question is this:
    Players like Lage Lund or Julian Lage .. If you ask them to a Bernie K or Grant G impression .. You think they can nail it?

Do they play like they play thru necessity ... They can't play differently?

Or do they do it as an artistic choice?

If it's the former then Marinero has quite the point .. If it's the latter then all is good, isn't it?
    I attended a class some years back by Andre Bush. He was making his mark with the notion that all 12 notes were equal. His favorite music was heavy metal and he sort of played jazz that way. Loud, aggressive and all 12 notes.