The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
Posts 101 to 125 of 129

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by joelf
    You are correct, sir. Sid Margolis...
    Sid was my first teacher. I studied with him for several years. Then for reasons I can't quite recall (but may have involved hearing Carl and Jack Wilkins jam) I switched to Carl.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I never understood how Chuck did it.

I remember part of a chord melody that came to me, iirc, from Chuck via Carl.

It was Fly Me To The Moon (aka In Other Words). First chord is Am7 with a C in the soprano. Next chord is Aminmaj9 (second chord, Stairway to Heaven) and the next two are Am7 xx5555 and Am7 x7758x. Next is Dm7 etc.

So, to take a simple case, what did he do for the first two chords? Am7 to Aminmaj9. If you don't include the G# over the second one, it's going to sound like you're playing Am7 (you can play something else, but then it won't be the first two chords of your chord melody). It lasts a eighth note or maybe a quarter, depending on how you phrase it, at medium swing tempo. You don't have time to play very many notes over the Aminmaj7. So, is that what Chuck did? Seems like boxing himself in pretty tightly, given that he had a new chord for every melody note. You can get stuck, I imagine, with a guide tone line and elaboration. "Stuck" is probably a poor choice of words. He sounded awesome. I'd guess that he made melody and in doing so made an effort to outline his reharm.
    Last edited by rpjazzguitar; 09-11-2021 at 10:25 PM.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by mr. beaumont
    Makes sense to me...ive said for a long time, the goal is to get to the point where you can nail evdry single change in a tune...

And then don't ever do that.