The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 37

User Info Menu

For instance B minor over Cmaj7
    I'm studying Scofield's solo over All The Things. Lot of wonderful ideas in it. I notice that he's often playing minor pentatonic ideas down a half step from a Maj7 chord. I suppose that is a way of implying a Lydian sound over the major chord.

Thing is though, that he will regularly also play the 9 of the minor scale, in effect playing both the b9 and natural 9 of the major chord (e.g. C# and D over a C chord). Is there a theoretical or formal reason why that works, or is it just cause he's John Scofield and he knows how to get away with making it sound cool. ?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

How long does it last? Coming between what and what?

Also, I suppose, which minor scale? Natural, harmonic, melodic, some other exotic scale? Or did Sco just throw a lot of Bm-type notes at it?

Got a transcription? Preferably of more than one example of it on different tunes.

Context, you see. Context is all.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Average Joe
    For instance B minor over Cmaj7
    I'm studying Scofield's solo over All The Things. Lot of wonderful ideas in it. I notice that he's often playing minor pentatonic ideas down a half step from a Maj7 chord. I suppose that is a way of implying a Lydian sound over the major chord.

Thing is though, that he will regularly also play the 9 of the minor scale, in effect playing both the b9 and natural 9 of the major chord (e.g. C# and D over a C chord). Is there a theoretical or formal reason why that works, or is it just cause he's John Scofield and he knows how to get away with making it sound cool. ?
    Probably the latter haha. You can find a theoretical reason I’m sure, but it turns out that style, phrasing and time are nine tenths of the law…

User Info Menu