The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 40

User Info Menu

Newbie here... My resolution for the soon to be New Year is to get serious about learning some harmony so I can write songs that have more than 3 chords.

Now, let's say I want to go through Hindemith's Concentrated Harmony book (some forum member kindly recommended it as a good intro text). What is the minimum piano I need to learn for this? And how should I go about learning it?

Thanks!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

This is the "Jazz Guitar Online" forum.
    If you love your instrument, me too and... good for you bro.
    If you want to be a pianist, best wishes for a healthy happy New Year!

If you want to be a better guitar player studying theory via the piano STOP NOW!

Most piano players dump tones like crazy, play drop2 (which we do almost by nature) and end up doing "little things" like guitar players anyway...so learn theory through your instrument.

User Info Menu

Every music major learns piano because it is a graphical representation of the grand staff. It is absolutely a GREAT way to learn theory. Don't let any non-piano-player tell you otherwise.

"how much" piano you need to know: you need to be able to sight read enough standard notation to be able to play the examples in a harmony textbook. That might be a big hurdle if you don't already have some reading and playing experience on piano.

A harmony class at your local community college could be an easier route - you'll have a teacher who can play examples AND explain them, which frees you to concentrate on hearing and understanding, instead of struggling with the mechanics of reading on an instrument that is not familiar to you.