The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16

User Info Menu

I hope you are all well and staying safe.

A friend of mine shared this chart with me and tried to explain it to me. (He received it from his guitar instructor. His teacher told him to focus on and practice the bottom chord progression, and to "surrender" to it rather than trying to understand all the theory behind it. I'd say I'm a late beginner with music theory, but my friend could not explain this in such a way that it made sense to me. Does this make sense to any of you, and if so, could you explain it in simple terms?

Any help would be appreciated! Thank you in advance.
    Attached Images Attached Images

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

the last row makes the point that there is at least one chord on every degree of the chromatic scale that can be explained in the key.

in C:
    C (I chord)
    C7 (V for IV)
    Db7 (tritone sub V)
    Dm7 (ii)
    D7 (II i.e. V for V)
    Em7 (iii)
    E7 (III, i e. V for VI)
    F (IV)
    F7 (V for bVII)
    Gb7 (tritone sub V for IV)

etc

User Info Menu

Jamming all those chords in chromatic order is like taking a poem and arranging the words in alphabetical order.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by BigDaddyLoveHandles
    Jamming all those chords in chromatic order is like taking a poem and arranging the words in alphabetical order.
    It's not for playing, it's for information.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by ronjazz
    It's not for playing, it's for information.
    yea, but OP mentioned the (probably misunderstood) instruction to "practice the progression"

User Info Menu

It does mention that they are chromatic diminished 7th chords, so:

C
    C#dim7 (or Db dim7)
    Dm7
    D#dim7
    Em7, etc