The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast
Posts 251 to 275 of 282

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Tal_175
    My notion of theory has nothing to do with not using your ears. I wish people stopped strawman'ing theory like that. It's quite the contrary, my notion of theory is how to get your ears stronger. I suspect most people who teach using theoretical tools also understand that.
    Very well said.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by rintincop
    I'm not a beginner, are you?
    Is this a how to teach beginners sort of forum?
    Is this a pro jazz guitarists only sort of forum?

Sure, the number of beginners is small, but there is a huge amount of intermediate players like me. Most of us dug a lot into theory and the result is that theory made us stop sounding bad, but can't make us sound good. I willing to wager that there are a lot of guitar players like me that knows how to make sense of everything yet not being able to play shit that sounds great

It seems C is always an advocate for that sort of thing; makes me wonder if perhaps he's always thinking about students.
    Off course he is ... and making no secret about it either. Just like Rick Beato is trying to make everyone buy his 600 page Rick Beato Book that deals with .. yes .. Theory

In my mind C's transcriptions probably give more benefits than Beato's musings on modes and what not

Cory Henry (Snarky Puppy : "Lingus" keyboardist), is no slouch. He thinks theory when he practices. He doesn't think theory when he performs: he goes into the flow, listens, and his theory is simultaneously employed subconsciously.

This is a guitar forum. You don't have to practice stuff in C-major and C#-major. You just move your hand a fret.