The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 42

User Info Menu

Weird question time!

Let's consider your run of the mill song written in the Western tradition in the last 100 years or so. It has a melody that sounds like, well, like a melody.

Then somebody comes and plays a solo over the chords of that song. And it sounds, well, like a solo.

It doesn't sound like a different song that happens to share the same chords, it has a different... intent? concept? phrasing? je ne sais quoi?

Of course there are outliers like those bebop tunes that sound like a solo, or if somebody went and quoted the whole Flintstones theme over a rhythm changes tune. But in general, you know what I mean (I hope). There's the melody. There's the solo. And they sound different. Why?

I am not an expert on musicology or the history of musical forms, so feel free to enlighten me in any manner you find convenient.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Perhaps because of chord scale theory?

User Info Menu

One difference is, Tin Pan Alley standards have melodies that were intended to be performed vocally. Solos or bebop heads are instrumental parts. Wide angular skips, fast legato lines are very difficult to sing but very natural for technically developed musicians to perform on the piano, sax, guitar etc.

Classical music is the same. A piano concerto sounds nothing like the kind of lines composed for opera singers.

User Info Menu

Melodies tend to be singable by mortals. There are often lyrics -- which further limits density and complexity.

But, just to do a thought experiment ... what if you limited the soloist to the same number of notes as the composer? Would you still be able to tell the difference?