The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 11 of 11

User Info Menu

Hi everyone,

I have been playing the guitar for around 4 years now. I would say that I have been able to develop somewhat of an ear in the process and have decent technical ability. Regretfully, I have neglected learning music theory in those four years. I do not know an ounce of theory, I only know where the notes on the guitar are lol my mind is an clean slate.
    I am posting in this forum in particular because I’ve seen the videos you guys post on here and my goal is ultimately to be able to improvise as freely as you guys can.
    I have strong roots in blues and r&b, through my four years of playing I have worked solely on learning blues and r&b songs note for note, and have recently started transcribing Charlie Christian and Wes solos. Again, I have no idea what scales I am playing, what key the song is in, etc.
    I was hoping that you guys would be able to steer me in the right direction in regards to where I should start off, and if there is some sort of roadmap that I should follow.
    Thank you all very much, I will take anything that I can gain, all suggestions are greatly appreciated. Stay safe and well everyone.

PS: I apologize if there is already a thread like this, I tried looking for one before posting but I did not come across one.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Know every note on all 5 strings. The 6th one is free. Not as hard as it seems either. One minute per string 5 minutes a day, first thing I the morning. Use a timer and less than a month you'll easily have it. Start there first.

Next learn intervals and basic chord construction. Remember chords are derived from scales. Start with a Major Scale and derive 7 Modes and respective chords.
    Once you understand that process move on to doing the same with Melodic and Harmonic Minor Scales.