Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 50 of 58

User Info Menu

I’ve been playing guitar for 40 years and teaching guitar for 15 years and recently I have two student inquiries wanting to learn blues guitar. I have some time before they want to start so I wanted to try again to get to the reason why the basic 12 bar blues progression works and sounds good. So this would be a chord progression analysis. In college I had a professor say don’t analyze the blues, it sounds good because it sounds good. I think maybe it can be analyzed or the precise reasoning on why those chord changes work can be revealed and maybe he just didn’t want to get into it at that time. Here’s how far I have it. Key of G: The I chord is actually G major and changes to G7 to tonicize the C (IV chord). Then the C becomes C7 which in theory would want to resolve to F7 but it goes back to G. Why does that work? I have no issue with the D7 because it’s theV7 chord. But why does D7 to C7 work?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Because it's basically just a 3-chord trick - tonic, dominant, subdominant.

The b7s are just ornamentation, as are the other blue notes. Playing, for instance, a Bb over the C doesn't make it a C7 (as in the V of F). It's still a C, the IV chord of G.

Always think function, not just the name of the chord in isolation.

User Info Menu

The standard jazz blues progression is still just the 3-chord trick with substitutions.

G13 - C9 - G13 - Dm7/G13
    C9 - C#o - G13 - E7#9
    Am7 - D7 - G13/E7#9 - Am7/D7

The E7 in bar 8 is only a sub for G (G = Em = E7). So what you play over G will still fit. (It's also the V of Am which is why it flows nicely. Clever, these Chinese :-))

User Info Menu

Look for the "jazzduets" channel on YT - recently the guy who is running it has posted some clips on blues progressions including one where he has collected all or most of the possible substitutions in a comprehensive chart.