The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 31

User Info Menu

I'm studying Jazz Composition book by Ted Pease. It has been useful to use in conjunction with my Real Book and the mDecks harmonic analysis eBook (I learn about harmony from Jazz Composition, work out what's going on the the Real Book, then check if I got it right in mDecks.

Anyway. Page 78 of this book is about Modal Interchange. As far as I can tell it seems to suggest a IV- chord is in major keys, as in a minor chord on the 4th degree of the major key scale. I don't understand this because on the 4th degree of the major key should be a major chord (IV), while the IV- chord is what you get on the 4th degree of a minor key.

Therefore I would have thought that, in the case of these chords, modal interchange would be where you replace the IV chord from major key with a IV- from minor key, rather than the IV- chord being in the major key to begin with as it seems to suggest. What is going on here?

Modal Interchange Question-modal-interchange-jpg

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

The first red bit means that AbM7 and Bb7 can replace Fm7 in the key of C minor. C minor is the parallel minor to C major. It seems wrong because Ab and Bb aren't in C... but they are when they're described as the bIV and bVII. I know it's confusing.

The second red bit means DbM7 replaces Am7 in C major. That's taken from the Phrygian mode (from Ab major). Again it's confusing because... well, it is.

If you can bide your time a while I have a chart somewhere which shows all possible substitutions clearly. However, it doesn't mean they all work well. In fact, only relatively few do and are frequently used.

It would be more useful if your book gave example progressions so you could play them to see the effects. It might do on another page maybe.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Arpeggio