The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 14 of 14

User Info Menu

Hi,

I’m new to Jazz and to this site, so apologies if I could have searched for this.

I’m trying to understand the Roman numeral chord descriptions for diatonic chords. If I take A natural minor as an example we have Am7 on the first scale degree and Dm7 on the fourth. However, if I look at the “recipe” I see that the first degree is Im7 and the fourth is ivm7.

Why does the first degree have a capital I and the fourth a lower case iv?

Also I see the 7th degree as bVII7. Is it bVII because it is a major chord built on the flat 7th degree? Ie 2 semitones rather than 1 below the tonic?

Many thanks for the help!

John

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by jforgan
    It shouldn't have. Major is capital/upper case, minor is lower case.

Also I see the 7th degree as bVII7. Is it bVII because it is a major chord built on the flat 7th degree? Ie 2 semitones rather than 1 below the tonic?
    If it's the 7th degree of the major scale then it would not be a dominant chord. It would be a half-diminished (like Bm7b5 in C major). Being minor it would be vii.

In the minor (A minor here) the 7th chord is a dominant, which is G7. That would be VII. It's not generally written as b7.

However, in describing the notes of a dominant chord, the 7th note is often called a b7 because the intervals are based on the root's major scale.

In G major the 7th is F#, so in G7 it would become the b7.

Another quick random example to make the point. Take a Dm6 chord.

The D major scale is D E F# G A B C#. The notes of Dm6 are D F A B. So, counting and comparing with D major, the intervals would be 1 b3 5 6.

That's the way I like to do it because I find it easy. Others like to describe intervals by the number of semitones between notes. I'll let them do that because it confuses me :-)