Jazz Guitar
Learn how to play jazz guitar with our eBook bundle
+ Reply to Thread

New Chord Melody Approach...need advice

Hello! new member here, I am not a musician or a very competent player... I am self taught in music theory and few instruments... guitar, piano and the sax. little bit here and there.

I am always fascinated at pianist and guitar players jazz chord melody. and in constant search of ways easy enough for my stubborn fingers. I recently found out an 'interesting' way to play a song ie misty. and easy enough to work.... As I am self taught, I have a number of methods book, i am learning about barry harris method, chord scales, etc, but have never heard my new way this as a valid approach... I will write a bit about this so-called 'method' below, my question is... is this a theoretically correct way to play chord melody? i tested it on piano, it sounds nice to my ears, but I am afraid of getting a black eye someday playing to sophisticated audience. if it has been written about before I would like to read up more to expand my playing as its the only thing working for me for now

Using C major as an example:
    i am referring to highest note, melody note as top note... chords are to the 7th degree as other ir 9 11 13 just repeats itself...
    top notes CM D- E- FM G7 A- BO
    chord scales cegb dfac egbd face gbde aceg bdfa
    say if the melody note is a C, only C D F A chords contain it, in other words, C D F A notes will always work with C in C major. with C giving some of the major character, d some minor character so on ...
    following the same idea, if top note is D, I get D E G B
    if top note is E, I get C E F G A
    if top note is F i get D F B.... so on
    So, taking top note C as example, if i play C D F A with right hand playing top note C on piano, i get a F6/ D-7 on my left hand....the list continues:
    C: F6/D-7: CDFA
    D: G6/E-7: DEGB
    E: F Maj 9: CEFGA
    F: Bdim/D-6: DFB
    G: C6/A-7: CEGA