The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 32 of 32

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by christianm77
    It’s important to bear in mind Schoenberg was self taught. He had his own way of looking at things.
    It's interesting how influential Schoenberg's fucntional theory became in the States (especially in non-classical world...)

I never heard it mentioned in Europe and it seems nobody really uses it for learning - except modern jazz players who seem took through States again...

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Jonah
    It's interesting how influential Schoenberg's fucntional theory became in the States (especially in non-classical world...)

I never heard it mentioned in Europe and it seems nobody really uses it for learning - except modern jazz players who seem took through States again...
    I don't really feel qualified to comment. I didn't study classical harmony formally. I read Harmonielehre about 20 years ago alongside a bunch of other theory texts. I think some of Schoenberg's concepts have probably stayed with me. I got a lot out of Fundamentals of Musical Composition.

I also understand Schenker is a bigger deal in the US than he is in Europe?

Thanks everybody..
    now I have to learn all that stuff
    geoffF

User Info Menu

Looks like a standard "back door" turn to me.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by geoffF
    Thanks everybody..
    geoffF
    Well, you don't really, you just have to understand what's going on when you see it. When I hear a beep in the car it means the door's not shut properly. I don't have to be a qualified motor mechanic or an automotive electronic wiring expert to know what it means.

Otoh, if it interests you, then... :-)

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by geoffF
    Thanks everybody..
    geoffF
    Oh god please don’t.

User Info Menu

The tune's Form is A A B A...right