The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 30

User Info Menu

Hi there,

Another question of modern history of jazz. All is in the tittle : When Jazz Musicians start to play standards in odd meters ?

The first clue, maybe, is the Smalls crew in the 90's with Chris Potter or Brad Mehldau.

What do you think ?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I've been doing it for 40 years, George Shearing did it in the 70s, it's hardly new. In fact, Fly Me To The Moon was originally a waltz, and now always done in 4.

User Info Menu

How about Grant Green, Blue Note album 'Street of Dreams', track 'Lazy Afternoon' done in 5/4, in 1964.

But I expect there are earlier examples than this.
    Last edited by grahambop; 05-11-2017 at 04:13 PM.

User Info Menu

I imagine as soon as Brubeck and Desmond's 'Take Five' came out in 1959, it gave lots of people the idea of doing standards in unusual time signatures.

User Info Menu

I always liked how Georgie Fame used to play the blues standard "Seventh Son" in 7/4. See what he did there....

User Info Menu

Intentionally ? or otherwise ?

User Info Menu

I think grahambop has the right of it, at least in terms of bringing odd signatures (by Western notions) to attention. The idea caught on outside of jazz, too. The Dead did tunes in 5, 7, 10, 11, 14.

Yes and other prog-rock bands used many odd time signatures.

Kreisberg does Summertime in what counts out as 5 to my ears on one of his records.

User Info Menu

Mahavishnu Orchestra changed the way Phil Collins and (the good incarnation of) Genesis played. There's a way of playing "odd" meters where you feel it, like many folk melodies and you don't even notice it. Then I can always hear it when a group is trying to be hip by playing a tune in an odd meter and counting it through.