The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 131

User Info Menu

Hi!

I ask this question a lot because...well, there are people who play guitar and I think of them as "non-musicians" (I am NOT an elitist--I'm someone who has studied music for MANY years...worked really hard at it). They seem to play better than me but don't know what note they are playing...or what time signature! And the musicality...well, it is impressive to the lay person but...

Anyway, I just want to know--does my studying of music theory, in both classical and jazz musics, really make a difference to my guitar playing? Or to anyone's for that matter? Please, if this topic is old, just point me to the proper thread and I shall delete this if that is the case. And why are there people who brag about being "self-taught" and think that studying music formally is going to "kill their creativity"--and...

Just want to see some views of those with experience--thank you!

P.S. I must say, one of my profs said, "Having a jazz degree is not going to get you a gig in someone's cover band."

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

It depends...

The more talented and advanced you are at guitar and the better your ear is the less theory is going to help you. However, I think it would help anyone.

I was told that Joe Pass learned to play by just learning a ton of tunes by ear. The Joe Pass Guitar Styles instruction book was created by Joe recording a bunch of examples into a tape recorder and then Bill Thrasher transcribed what he played and explained the theory behind it. (I took lessons from Bill Thrasher, so I got this info straight from the horses mouth.)

For the other 99% of guitar players, I think theory is a short cut to increasing our vocabulary, which should increase our creativity and which should make it a shorter road to becoming more advanced.
    Last edited by fep; 05-16-2009 at 08:31 PM.

User Info Menu