The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 75

User Info Menu

You guys here are so generous. I am so glad I found this place.

I am a self taught player, and I need your help. Can you help me once and for all, get some questions on diminished chords/scales answered? Any help would be appreciated!

Do I have this correct?

Chords:

1,b3,b5 is a diminished triad. Also known as a diminished chord.
    1, b3,b5,b7 is a half diminished chord, also known as a m7b5.
    1,b3,b5,bb7 is a diminished 7 chord.

If these are correct, can anyone tell me why the m7b5 is called HALF diminished? Is it because the b7 isn't a m3rd away from the b5? And is the dim7 called as such cuz the bb7 IS a m3rd away from the b5? Or does that even have anything to do with it?

Next question is scale related.

The half-whole and the whole-half are the only two diminished scales, right? (super locrian, 7th mode of melodic minor doesn't count as the name diminished/whole tone scale is just a kind of slang, right?)
    Half-whole 1,b2, b3, b4, b5, 5, 6, b7
    Whole-half 1, 2, b3, 4, b5, b6, bb7, 7

And these can be used any number of ways, and they repeat themselves every minor third, right? I love their sound and use them alot in a lot of different ways.

But which chord goes with which scale? I use locrian over a diminished chord when it functions as a vii chord. But does the half-whole go with the dim 7 chord or the half dim?

My guess is that the whole-half goes with the dim7 cuz it has the bb7 in the scale, and the half-whole goes with the half dim cuz of the b7.

Am I in the ballpark, here? Are their any other diminished chord/scale functions that I need to know about?

I often used diminished as a spice rather than a straight chord/scale function. And if I zipping thru some changes, and I don't know which dim scale to use, I'll just work the triad and some neighbor tones. But I'd like to get a clearer view.

Thanks guys.