The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 95

User Info Menu

Hello,

I've seen many threads on this site about developing speed picking, fast licks, runs, and scales. In all those threads I see some people who thinks that this ability only is for the very few, who has the natural ability to play fast. I used to be one of those guys, but that changed when I started practicing picking technique very thorough and very focused. The more I practiced the faster and cleaner I was able to play....

By fast I mean 16th notes at 160 bpm+, sixtuplets at 100 bpm+.

I've also found a website about "the secret of shred guitar"... it is about a documentary about that the speed picking technique has a secret, which we haven't discovered. The only ones who knows it are the ones who are able to play fast. But they don't know that they know it! That one does something unexplainable with the right hand. The argument is that almost everyone practices with metronomes and increasing the tempo bit by bit, but only very few ever get above the mediocre level. The site mentions that many of the virtuosos developed the technique over a short span of time.... Including Paul Gilbert, Rusty Moore, Michael Angelo Batio. The site is found here:

http://www.troygrady.com/code.php