The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 46

User Info Menu

Hi everyone,
    I've been playing for 45+ years and studied with Rodney Jones, Ted Dunbar and Rick Stone. That doesn't mean I'm a good guitarist! Just that I have a pretty good understanding of the basics.

Rick Stone mentioned Barry's system and he has some pdfs online that are very good introductions. Roni Ben-Hur also has some good info online. (I haven't checked out his Mike's Master Class yet).

This post is not about the first two scales (Maj. 6th diminished and Min. 6th diminished).

I've been working through Alan Kingstone's GREAT book (The Barry Harris Harmonic Method for Guitar) for the past couple years. It's a very good introduction to the Major and Minor 6th diminished scales, especially with tips like using the 6th off the 5th and borrowing notes. I'm very familiar with those first two scales.

BUT...the Dominant 7th diminished and Dominant 7th b5 diminished scales are given scant attention. Just a few pages on how to spell them and some chord charts. Having spent this much time sorting through the Maj and Min 6th dim scales and still feeling like they take a back seat to what I already know, I am hesitant to work out every permutation of these last two scales. I've done what seemed obvious to me which is to borrow notes and see what other chords appear but it doesn't seem to be that big of a payoff. I don't think Alan used them much if at all in his version of "Like Someone in Love".

What am I missing? Does anyone know how useful these scales are? Has anyone found a book/video that shows how to use these scales in depth? I wish Alan would write another book dealing with these scales!

Thank you very much!
    Larry

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Alan is around here and posts from time to time when Barry Harris threads appear so maybe he'll pop in and comment.

User Info Menu