The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 20 of 20

User Info Menu

Not sure if this is the right area for this or not. So here goes
    Hello there I need some help with the Melodic minor and Major scale

I just started learning theory and not playing by ear so.

Could some one possible tab out the major scale in A and list the intervals.

the intervals for the pentatonic major minor in A as well as the Melodic minor scale?

Any help would be appreciated.

so intervals would be major 2nd major 3rd ect.. perfect 4th & 5th major 6th and 7thn then octave.

Anyways that's my homework for the next two days so any help would be appreciated.

Any help at all would be really appreciated.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

The intervals for the major scale are:

R M2 M3 P4 P5 M6 M7 R

Melodic Minor is

R M2 m3 P4 P5 M6 M7 R

Major Pentatonic is:

R M2 M3 P5 P6 R

Minor Pentatonic is:

R m3 P4 P5 m7 R

MW

User Info Menu

R?? I'm not exactly sure I follow you on that. I was hoping for like 2nd 2rd 4th 5th ect..

MW? lol maybe a lil bit of an elboration lol thanks though for your help so far. very kind of you ^_^

User Info Menu

oh wait I get it Root LMAO sorry.. could anyone tab this out? lmao I missed that Root lol

User Info Menu

I think it would be very beneficial if you tried to find these notes on the guitar first. I'll write them out in A for you to help you get started. If you are having trouble I can write out the tab no problem. There are 12 ways, at least, to play the basic fingerings of these scales so just pick one you like and start there!

A Major: A B C# D E F# G#

A Melodic Minor: A B C D E F# G# A

A Major Pent: A B C# E F# A

A Minor Pent: A C D E G A

MW

User Info Menu