The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 19 of 19

User Info Menu

I am confused about something I just read in Mark Levine's Jazz Theory Book. I sent him an email about it, but I'll post a copy of the email here too in hopes that I can get this issue figured out pronto:

Hi Mark,
    I'm a budding jazz guitarist making my way through your Jazz Theory Book, but I've arrived at something on page 88 that's got me puzzled. You notate a voicing containing all eight scale degrees of the E half/whole diminished scale, saying that it's called a "double diminished" voicing because it forms a G° chord in the right hand and a G#° in the left.

Now, it's easy for me to understand where the G#° comes from (E half/whole diminished has the same notes as D whole/half diminished, which produces the chords D°, B°, F°, and G#°), but what about that G° chord?

I even see that the G#° is composed of the 3rd, 5th, 7th, and b9 from E half/whole diminished. This leaves behind #9, #11, 13, and the root, which are enharmonic equivalents of a G°'s chord tones... But if E half/whole diminished is truly symmetrical, and G#° is interchangeable with E7b9, then why isn't G° interchangeable as well? Yet, if it is, it seems this would break down the barriers between the three diminished scales.

E7b9 would be interchangeable with G°, which is interchangeable with F#7b9, which would be interchangeable with A°, which is interchangeable with G#7b9, which would be interchangeable with B°. But G°, A°, and B° come from each of the three diminished scales. Which is totally crazy.

I hope you can resolve my confusion! I love your book, by the way--I can't put it down.
    Indran