The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 55

User Info Menu

octatonic blues

one of the misconceptions being made aware to me recently, is how as a subset of the dorian blues mode of the major bebop scale:

1 2 b3 4 #4/b5 5 6 b7 1

or in D:

D E F G G#/Ab A B C D

the harmonic minor scale (as well as harmonic major) may be generated:

A B C D E F G# A

and

C D E F G Ab B C

and some are taking this as that i am implying some kind of parallel between the development of the harmonic minor and octatonic bebop scales. let me answer this simply: nope. the use of harmonic minor as i understand it, arose from the desire to have the leading tone present in minor cadences during the common practice period (but probably much earlier) but you know what? i am not an historian. i am a guitarist who came of age in the twentieth century. so what exactly am i saying?

i am saying that the (yes, symmetrical) octatonic blues mode of the bebop major scale:

D E F G G#/Ab A B C D

is a superset of both A harmonic minor and C harmonic major. so what of it?

check this out:

-------------------------------------------------------10-12-13-
    -----------------------------------------(9)-10-12-13-----------
    -----------------------------9-10-12-13-------------------------
    --------------------9-10-12-------------------------------------
    ----------10-11-12----------------------------------------------
    10-12-13--------------------------------------------------------