The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 26 of 52 FirstFirst ... 16242526272836 ... LastLast
Posts 626 to 650 of 1291

User Info Menu

I would be interested in this material but in a future perspective. Right now I'm still learning the prerequisites: closed and open triads, drops and so on.

????????? ??? ???? SM-J730FM, ?????????????? Tapatalk

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

If anyone has any anecdotes or experiences with anything related to this material, please share. Thanks ahead of time.
    A few observations from myself, it's a slow process, but one, like immersion in a country with a different language, changes the way I speak my own native language. I still have my own way of hearing and articulating, "grabbing" a chord, but there's also a very elegant language of movement where the sound of a chord is made up of moving lines.
    After working with the cycles, I had seemingly limitless and unimagined routes to get to the next chord; and I heard many more routes of movement and my fingers also had many more things they reached for without even being able to identify the underlying chordal structure, but rather something akin to "here's how I'm going to introduce tension in the line that leads to the II chord of Ab." and Ab is a series of movements that can take many shapes.

I'm working with triads myself. I want mastery of triadic forms because as a 7 string player, triads over bass notes are structures that allow a huge spectrum of tension and consonance "colours". Others I've known like working with cycles of 4 part 7ths, and then elaborating with the space between individual chords with chromatic passing notes to form a tapestry of chromatic movement.