The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 22 of 22

User Info Menu

I've always believed that tunes can teach you all the theory that you need to know. But I'm no pro ...

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Doesn't get much simpler than that does it.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Jazzaluk
    I've always believed that tunes can teach you all the theory that you need to know. But I'm no pro ...

+200

Thanks for reminding me not to stray from a path that was working for me anyway.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Jazzaluk
    I've always believed that tunes can teach you all the theory that you need to know.
    Me too! Nice to see pros confirm it, of course.
    Personally, I just learned tunes because that was what I wanted to play! I never took lessons, and didn't care about theory. That's how I learned to improvise: because playing tunes gives you a whole vocabulary of melodic phrases, and the grammar of how intervals and chord extensions work.
    Studying theory - separated from tunes - is no answer.
    Much later i did take jazz lessons, and - like franco6719 - found it tempting me to stray from my tried-and-tested path. Academic jazz theory was intellectually interesting and appealing, of course, but - thankfully - didn't damage my playing too much.

User Info Menu

I agree. The songs are the heart and soul of it all. What I have done through the years is learning a lot of songs. AFTER that, studied theory to a certain extent, as it helps me to categorize what is going on in the songs, so I can easier recognize say chord sequences which is repeated in many different songs.