The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 49

User Info Menu

hey all,

new here and im sure someone can direct me in the right direction. i have always been a learner through experience, all aspects of life. im not one to read and absorb. this question is advice from those who believe theory is necessary or is not. to me it seems like a lot of info to take in and as im only a sofa guitarist wondering how far i should delve into theory or should i just truck along as i have in my self taught knowledge of guitar. thanks and dont mean to bring up a redundant question

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

The idea of theory is to make music easier to understand, and also to enable you to talk about music sensibly with other musicians.
    If you don't see the need for either of these - you don't need theory.

But bear in mind, if you know the names for the chords you're playing, you already know some theory... IOW, it's not anything to be scared of. It just starts with names for the sounds you're using. (And notation, which is written signs for the sounds you're using, to enable people to write - and write about - music as well as talk about it.)

User Info Menu

everyone who wants to get more serious about Harmony and melody has to grasp an understanding of some theoretical concepts. You might not need to read a book or take a class but there are plenty of online tools that can help better your understanding of Harmony and thus open your mind to more possibilities.

A little bit of knowledge can go a long way even if you might not have aspirations of being a professional Jazz musician. But in order for you to communicate as JonR said fluently with others in an attempt to further your enjoyment, getting some theory behind you, even simple stuff can enhance your experience.

User Info Menu