The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 18 of 18

User Info Menu

Hi guys!

I'm fairly new to theory, At the moment I'm studying chords in general, (formulas, progressions etc) Anyways, I've been trying to practice comping, and the first song I started on was "All of Me" because it's simple, and I know all the chords in it...

Anyways, the version I have is in the key of "C" I believe. I got it from the Real book (fifth edition). And from what I learned, in the Major scale, the "5 chord" is the only chord that is dominant. So in C you'd have..

CMaj7-Dmin7-Emin7-Fmaj7-GDom7-Amin7-Bmin7b5

Anyways, in this song, they have the chords "D7" "E7" "A7" "Fmin7" "Eb dim7" and according to the formula I have, none of those chords fit in the Cmaj scale. right?

Anyways, I always find myself asking, "why does this work" so i can apply it other places... and I realized two things...either the song is NOT in the Key of C, or this works for some other reason, that I just haven't gotten to?

Can anyone help me with this? I hope this makes sense? If not please let me know if you need any more information.

Thank you so much, I really appreciate it!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

What you're seeing is a mix of the standard changing keys and using substitutions. Look up "key center approach to playing jazz standards" and "jazz chord substitutions" and you'll learn about this.

Basically, the first two bars are in C (and the chord is a C major). Cut then the next bar, where the chord is an E7, is in the key of A (E7 is the fifth of A major). The clue is the sharpened G in the third bar - A major has a G sharp and E7 is the fith.

In other areas, the chords are still from C major but they are substitutions. If you look at the Bar in the B section where CMaj switches to Emin7 on the third beat, it's because Emin7 is a substitute for CMajor.

User Info Menu