The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 21 of 21

User Info Menu

I'm a complete newbie to Jazz

But I'd like to know all the theory behind it so I can understand it while I play instead of just learning the music from tab.

So as far as improv goes I've learned that you solo over the chords and not the key unlike other genres. Minor chords use the minor arpeggio with whatever key the chord is it and the Dorian mode. The major chords use the major arpeggio and the Ionian/Lydian mode. The only problem is when I go to play it it doesn't sound "jazzy" if you understand what I mean. Like if I play a Ab Dorian scale over an Abminor7 it doesn't sound jazzy per say. Help a newbie out here?

Explain arpeggio's, scales, and chords further?

And does anyone have any suggestions for "teach yourself books"? Thanks guys! Keep jazzing it up!
    Last edited by cravingmusic; 02-02-2011 at 12:34 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

try using some of the notes "in between the notes"--chromatic passing tones.

so, take this Ab minor lick

----------------4-----------------------------
    --------4---7----------------------------------
    -----4----------------------------------------
    --6-------------------------------------------
    ---------------------------------------------

and then try...

-------------------4--------------------------
    -----------4---7------7-6-5-4----------------
    -------4--------------------------------------
    ---6------------------------------------------

The next step is to use those little chromatic licks to connect the arpeggios you'r using for each chord.

Then, look for ways you can target the 3rd and seventh of the chords. Watch how the third in one chord might turn into the seventh of the next, or move a half step to the next chord. The third and seventh are the defining tones of a chord, the "meat and potaotes" as I like to call 'em.