Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 15 of 15

User Info Menu

***Note: I originally posted this in the Networking: Teaching/Studying Music forum, but deleted it from there and moved it here***

Like most of you I'm sure, I get bombarded with ads for online jazz guitar classes through Berklee. I finally clicked on the link to check them out. I teach college myself and find their prices to be in-line with most other accredited colleges and universities. I'm mid-50s and do some low-pressure jazz gigging as well as musical theater pit orchestra work. However, I have a lot of gaps in my knowledge I'd like to fill. My closest quality guitar teachers are a couple of hours away, leaving YouTube lessons as my best bet. I've done a couple of the TrueFire courses and Dave Stryker's Artistworks course, but would like something even more structured, systematic, and methodical. I've thought about Berklee because I've been working through the Leavitt's method books, Jody Stein's chord melody arrangements, and other books by their faculty. So that led me to consider their online Jazz 101 course. So, my question is, have any of you completed their
    online guitar courses? And, if so, what did you think? (I know many of you attended Berklee in the past. I'm jealous. But I'm really interested in their online courses.) Thanks.

Skip B.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I took a few of the Berklee online courses and don't think much of them they are pretty shallow in content. I think they are expensive for how little information they impart. Basically it's a weekly video lesson and simple assignment to complete and upload. Some feedback from the instructor but not much.

I say pick a guitarist you like and email them and ask if they teach online lessons. With the virus going on a lot of name players are teaching now, but even one lesson with someone you dig can give you a lot to work on.