Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 35 of 35

User Info Menu

Hi everyone.
    I have 2 questions related to the so-many youtube guitar teachers out there. The first is:
    Who do you think are among the youtube jazz guitar teachers you would recommend a
    a) total beginner to watch
    b)an intermediate player to watch
    c) an advanced player to watch
    If you can name more than one, that'll be even better. More the merrier.
    And my 2nd qn is:
    Do you believe a student can gather a good all-round education in jazz guitar playing from youtube tutorials alone? Or do they need supplementation.
    I am both curious and would also like feedback on this.
    Would help MANY jazz guitar students I am sure!

Thanks in advance!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Most of YouTube is demonstration, not teaching. Teaching is a relationship.

There's a few people out there who make short, to the point demos that are true sharing of information, not just hearing themselves talk. Dani Rabin would be my favorite of these.
    There are other people, like Christiaan Van Hemmert that I watch videos of less to learn specific ideas but more to hear them talk about a broader topic and glean what I can. Christianm77, who posts here, is another person who has made some long videos that aren't as much teaching in my book, but more like a TED talk for guitar. Lots of good stuff to think about, but not for the impatient.

Reg, who posts here, (Reg523 on YT, I think?) makes simple, one camera YouTube vids where you can't even see his face, and they're more valuable than about 95% of the other junk that's out there.

And a student of jazz can absolutely NOT learn from YouTube alone. Jazz is music that is played with others, not in a bedroom by yourself.

User Info Menu

There are some decent ones. I like Sandra Sherman:

Guitarversum Sandra Sherman
    - YouTube

User Info Menu

Tim Lerch is a great player and teacher.

User Info Menu