Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16

User Info Menu

I'm 32, but I need to get better, working on my own music which has some...'jazzy' elements and chords (I can attach a sample of something I'm working on if necessary). Have very little understanding of theory, mainly self taught by transcribing, but haven't transcribed much jazz (just a bit of Grant Green), which is my next step.

Looking for a teacher/mentor to guide and help up my playing.

Any recommendations? I'm not too well connected in GTA.
    If you also know of any good vocal teachers too, that would be great...

Thanks!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Lorne Lofsky is in Toronto. He's an incredible player and a highly regarded educator.

User Info Menu

I am from Mississauga and my guitar teacher is from Rhode Island (we have Skype Lessons).

There are no good guitar teachers in Toronto.

- Statement Based on years of negative personal life experiences.

It is unfortunate that we live in Toronto, where guitar is just an afterthought. Sports and Left Wing Liberal Politics run this place. If there's any figment of music and the arts in there, its predominantly hip-hop and rap. If you want to get into a hobby or recreational activity in Toronto, the ageists in Canada, will impose a rule that it's for Children 6-10 years old only or something like that.

My advice is that if you are looking for a guitar teacher, Look overseas in Europe or you may find some good ones in the U.S.

I was a student of Lorne Lofsky at York University. Don't waste your investment with this very terrible guitar teacher. It's a waste of time and you won't learn anything from him.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Jason Sioco
    I am from Mississauga and my guitar teacher is from Rhode Island (we have Skype Lessons).