Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16

User Info Menu

I'm new to playing jazz, but I've been playing blues and rock for 40 years. I've tried a couple of guitar teachers who know some bluesy songs with 9th chords, but that as close to jazz as they get. Shouldn't the emphasis be on reading, sight reading, chord usage, etc? I want to be a well rounded player, but I'm really interested in comping. I was listening to Donna Lee on YouTube and I was much more interested in the guitar comping along than the lead player. Thanks

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by takefive
    I'm new to playing jazz, but I've been playing blues and rock for 40 years. I've tried a couple of guitar teachers who know some bluesy songs with 9th chords, but that as close to jazz as they get. Shouldn't the emphasis be on reading, sight reading, chord usage, etc? I want to be a well rounded player, but I'm really interested in comping. I was listening to Donna Lee on YouTube and I was much more interested in the guitar comping along than the lead player. Thanks
    An ideal teacher would put an emphasis on songs and playing by ear. Lots of listening, and hopefully, singing back. Then play what you sang. Stuff like that. If they talk about modes, run.

User Info Menu

Very simple, someone who (obviously) knows what they're doing but, more than that, someone you can connect with.

They need to be able to understand where you're coming from and be able to explain things clearly so you understand them completely in your own way. Someone who doesn't find teaching you a chore and just takes the money.

It's a bit of a tall order but you never know.

User Info Menu

Comping is an art form in and of itself...really good comping is actually harder than playing a solo, really!