Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 50 of 61

User Info Menu

I've just started to take another batch of lessons, based on the guitar curriculum at Berkley, finally trying to really and truly sort out my theory chops to a useable level for blues/jazz playing. I've been playing for 35 years but I find that lessons at wide intervals will always jump start something in my playing.

Around the same time I'd read an interview with Mark Knopfler where he said that he was thinking of taking some lessons. Which made me think, "If Knopfler is going to take some lesson, man I should be."

And so I was talking to a couple of my old guitar teachers, both great players, about it, Kevin Boyea from Burlington, VT and Rick Beato, now in Atlanta but then at Ithaca College and I asked them the following question.

If you could take a lesson with anyone, living or dead let's say, who would it be?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Barry Harris

User Info Menu

Wes Montgomery. I would just shut up and pay to watch him play for half an hour.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by grahambop
    Wes Montgomery. I would just shut up and pay to watch him play for half an hour.
    just to sit back and enjoy, or would you up close staring at his every move to learn as much as possible?

User Info Menu

I'd study with Sylvius Leopold Weiss. If for nothing else but to hear the improvisations that were lost to time unpublished or unwritten in the day.

David

User Info Menu

Charlie Parker

User Info Menu

I'm pretty sure I could have learned more about guitar and being a musician just having a beer with Jim Hall than I could in a formal lesson with anyone else.

As for living musicians, I know a guy who just took a lesson with Peter Bernstein, and from what he told me, Peter is exactly what I like in a teacher. I bet I'd learn a lot.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by joe2758