Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 31 of 31

User Info Menu

Was he too lazy? Was he unmotivated and maybe "sour-faced"? He was maybe lifting the cost of the lessons? He has not been there at the appointment? You felt like he didnt know what to do with students?

Gathering info about that.

thanks,

MrBlues

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Was working full time, and the fall semester of my sophomore year at college made demands.

It had nothing to do with him at all. He was by turns demanding and understanding, critical and patient -- had a really good feel for what I wanted to learn at the time. No BS about him, never missed a session, was very affordable, and nurtured my own songwriting even though it wasn't purely jazz but rather Steely Dan-sort of using jazz chords in a pop-rock context, played by a kid who hadn't yet learnt to swing.

User Info Menu

I'm a teacher and students stop ALL THE TIME. It's seldom that it is the acutual teacher there is something wrong with. Often life gets in the way - jobs, kids, shift of personal hobbies, relationships, travelling.

However I always ask if there is something lacking in my teaching when they stop. Only in one instance I was really sad about a student, because he never practiced and was really, really bad so I kind of scolded him. I think he was dyslexic and in hindsight I should have made his guitar lessons a safe space.

teaching guitar is 80% about dealing with other people

I have stopped lessons with about 4 teachers. The worst experience I had was a self occupied smartass, who spent most of the lessons on tuning the guitars and telling how great his musical life was going - he was pretty competent though. Others have been of minor reasons like money, conflict of taste and after 4 years with the same teacher it was time to move on.
    Last edited by yaclaus; 08-19-2016 at 05:05 AM.

User Info Menu

Put me in the "life happens" category.