Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 21 of 21

User Info Menu

Hi all,

I've been thinking about doing video lessons online for some time, with a professional. Just wondering if there's anyone here that has done that sort of thing in the past and whether or not it's worth it? How were you going into the lessons, and what did you come away with?

I'm not a beginner, but still have some ways to go, well where I'd like to be.. would love to have more direction and focus going forward. What should I know/have under my belt before going into such lessons? I'd want to be best prepared to get as much from it as possible.

Thanks in advance!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I don't know that it would help me, because I am three shades of hopeless. That said, I think it can be very beneficial to do a Skype with a player that you want some in depth time with for something. I don't think I would use Skype as a permanent solution for a teacher though. Personally, I would hunt down a local professional and work with them one on one. Then, maybe take an occasional Skype lesson with someone else because they fill a specific need.

But, your mileage may vary.
    Jazz isn't dead. It just smells funny. FZ

User Info Menu

I expect is depends upon the teacher and how they are prepared to work with you at whatever level you need. So you might look for specific and detailed reviews.

In the past, I took one-on-one lessons with a well known fiddler/banjo player via Skype and it was an excellent experience and tremendous value. He was well prepared and comfortable with the technology. I've also done the video exchange thing on Artistworks on several instruments. Also a positive experience, but the exchange delay of up to two weeks was somewhat frustrating.
    Last edited by Michael Neverisky; 02-12-2019 at 10:10 PM.

User Info Menu

p1p,