Reply to Thread
Posts 1 to 18 of 18

User Info Menu

I have been playing guitar for many years but am now beginning to get into jazz. I'm finishing my associates and then going to get my BA in jazz guitar. I'm looking for a good jazz guitar teacher in the northern NJ area to help me along the way and lead me down the right path. Any suggestions are appreciated!

EDIT: I am located in the Morris/Sussex county area of Northern NJ so it's a bit of a drive to the city. I'm willing to do it if I must - and I am grateful for those suggestions - but someone of that area of NJ would be great.
    Last edited by zboom19; 06-29-2016 at 08:02 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Roni Ben-Hur is in Teaneck. I believe that's northern New Jersey(?).

Great player and teacher.

London Jazz Guitar Society:
    www.meetup.com/londonjazzguitarsociety
    LJGS on Twitter: www.twitter.com/LDNJazzGuitar

Montclair State has a music faculty - Web page even has their phone numbers. Give em a shout and i bet they'd be happy to point you to some good teachers.
    Strings-Harp-Guitar - Montclair State University

User Info Menu

You didn't say where in Jersey you are located? If you are down near Weehauken you could try Josh Breakstone. When I was first getting into jazz I took about 6 months of lessons with him and he really fixed up my right hand. I know Ronnie from his ensemble classes but never took private lessons with him. I got the feeling that he really didn't appreciate my "blues background". Se la vie. Here is Josh's website.

Joshua Breakstone

Also, the NY Jazz workshop is having a 4 day "summer intensive" at the Mikado Studio on 43rd street starting July 28. Vic Juris and Ken Wessel will be teaching. I have already signed up myself.
    "if only the best singing bird was allowed to sing in the forest, think how silent the woods would be"?

User Info Menu