Reply to Thread
Posts 1 to 36 of 36

User Info Menu

How many of you are making a living teaching guitar part time or full time?

I suspect that to get a job in the public school system you need a teacher certificate or other formal validation. I don't have that qualification. Looking for work after sixty is no piece of cake. But I think I can teach students to play guitar from either a classical or other style perspective. But can one make a modest living teaching students privately?

The other 'skill' that I have developed is creating transcriptions with notation software. If there were a demand for one off transcriptions for a reasonable price, that would be an ideal job. But I don't sense there is much demand for those skills.

Of course, given that I am a doctor, one might question why, after all the pain and sweat expended to get a medical degree, anyone would look for gainful employment in another field. The smart ass answer would be to ask almost any practicing physician today. But I don't really want to practice medicine in today's toxic hamster wheel medical environment. And a medical degree is really good only for practicing medicine. Not much else.
    Last edited by targuit; 05-13-2016 at 09:07 AM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I do. I teach music privately l, though, my day job as a high school teacher is in drawing/painting, for which I have certification.

One can most definitely make a modest living just from teaching private lessons, but you work pretty hard, if you're any good at it.
    Jeff Matz, Jazz Guitar:
    http://www.youtube.com/user/jeffreymatz

"Jazz is like life...it goes on longer than you think, and as soon as you're like 'oh, I get it,' it ends."

--The Ghost of Duke Ellington

User Info Menu

Interesting, Jeff. What kind of guitar students do you encounter these days? Adolescents or young adults? Are they learning classical guitar or popular music? Do you offer half hour or hourly lessons once a week?